top of page
  • JoshuaLascano

Artist Statement

+ Self Reflection



Reaching the end of this final project was a long and tedious adventure, but I thoroughly enjoyed the process, idea, and end result of my work. I intended to create a character and bring it to life by creating a backstory and personality that exists within the world of Skyrim. I studied the lore and world building used in the games and built off of that information to create a character that was as grounded as possible in that alternate universe. The steps in learning to create my own characters and worlds requires me to first practice with what already exists and add to those, gradually moving towards complete control of the worlds I create. In the entertainment industry, worldbuilding and design is highly valuable which is what I am after in terms of skills, and I think this character is a strong first step in learning how to dissect an existing story and create a new character based on that research. While getting the actual character to move, blink, and speak when I do was difficult, the part that I didn’t really enjoy doing was the voicing. It wasn’t the process of writing and speaking of dialogue that I disliked, but rather the sound of my voice and my attempts at a convincing accent (the race of my character have a particular accent that has a bit of a Spanish tone mixed with some other subtle accents) so it’s sort of just a problem of my own. I intend to keep creating more characters with original personal narratives that can easily fit into pre-existing video games and movies, honing my creativity as I continue.


Recent Posts

See All

Final Project Audio Script

SoundCloud link for Audio Script https://soundcloud.com/sandypickle/project-3-npcs-in-skyrim-audio-script/s-MNNBgDbUp3U?si=b58d6ea67ea141cf8ab5c9f3a8d93bcd&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_cam

Anchor 1
bottom of page