top of page
  • JoshuaLascano

Artist Statement

My artwork thus far has been an exploration of mediums as I further my understanding of the tools that I use, transitioning from graphite, pen and ink to traditional and digital painting. As I begin to master new techniques, I recognize my innate interest in landscapes and narratives, creating places that I have never experienced before as a way to “travel” around the world. My work started with abstract depictions of organic forms, an attempt at understanding the complexities of nature. These have gradually started to change into more tangible and realistic settings. These are scenes that I might never see in my lifetime; creating the landscapes myself may be the closest I will get to them.

While yearning to experience new scenery in my life, I have found an interest in acknowledging what I have already seen. I come from Los Angeles and people often wonder if my backgrounds are as glamorous and rich as the media presents, expecting that I live a “Hollywood” lifestyle. Downtown LA, however, which is where I grew up, offers a very different scene from outsider expectations. As a high school cross-country runner, every day I ran through the streets, observing this city and its unseen faults. A city plagued by poverty, homelessness and overpopulation, only locals know the nooks and crannies of how our society operates. The work I intend to produce will provide an acute glimpse into the daily, intimate life of Los Angeles and the harsh realities that exist under the veil of Hollywood media.


Recent Posts

See All

Final Project Audio Script

SoundCloud link for Audio Script https://soundcloud.com/sandypickle/project-3-npcs-in-skyrim-audio-script/s-MNNBgDbUp3U?si=b58d6ea67ea141cf8ab5c9f3a8d93bcd&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_cam

Artist Statement

+ Self Reflection Reaching the end of this final project was a long and tedious adventure, but I thoroughly enjoyed the process, idea, and end result of my work. I intended to create a character and

Anchor 1
bottom of page